The CorCenCC project team members will be working hard over the coming years to design and build the corpus, developing it to be a valuable resource for the Welsh language community. The team includes:

Please click on the images below to learn more about the individual team members and their roles on the project.

CorCenCC Management Team (CMT)

Dawn-Knight Tess Fitzpatrick Steve Morris
Dawn Knight (PI)

Cardiff University

Tess Fitzpatrick (CI)

Swansea University

Steve Morris (CI)

Swansea University


Academic Collaborators

Paul Rayson
Alex Lovell (CI)

Swansea University

Jonathan Morris (CI)

Cardiff University

Paul Rayson (CI)

Lancaster University

Scott Piao
Irena Spasić (CI)

Cardiff University

Enlli Thomas (CI)

Bangor University

Scott Piao

Lancaster University



Ignatius Ezeani Steven Neale
Laura Arman

Cardiff University

Ignatius Ezeani (RA)

Lancaster University

Steven Neale (RA)

Cardiff University

Jennifer Needs Mair Rees
Jennifer Needs (RA)

Swansea University

Mair Rees (RA)

Swansea University



Laurence Anthony Tom Cobb Margaret Deuchar
Laurence Anthony

Waseda University

Thomas Michael Cobb

University of Quebec at Montreal

Margaret Deuchar

University of Cambridge

Kevin Donnely Michael McCarthy Kevin Scannell
Kevin Donnelly


Michael McCarthy

The University of Nottingham

Kevin Scannell

Saint Louis University


Former CorCenCC Team Members

Gareth Watkins Jeremy Evas Mark Stonelake
Gareth Watkins (RA)


Jeremy Evas (CI)


Mark Stonelake (CI)


Lowri picture
Lowri Williams (RA)


Project Advisory Group

  • Gwen Awbery, Aberystwyth University / University of Wales Trinity St David
  • Karen Corrigan, Professor of Linguistics and English Language, Newcastle University
  • Emyr Davies, CBAC-WJEC
  • Andrew Hawke, Managing Director of the Dictionary of the Welsh Language
  • Aran Jones, course author and company CEO for Ltd
  • Llion Jones, Director of Canolfan Bedwyr, Bangor
  • Gareth Morlais, Welsh-language technology and digital media specialist in the Welsh Language Unit, Welsh Government
  • Mair Parry-Jones, National Assembly for Wales
  • Owain Roberts, Acting Head of Research, National Library of Wales
  • Maggie Tallerman, Professor of Linguistics, Newcastle University
  • Colin Williams, Specialist in Language Policy and Language Planning, Fellow, St Edmund’s College, University of Cambridge



CorCenCC’s ambassadors represent the scope and reach of the project, and its relevance to Welsh life. Please click on the images below to learn more about what the project means to each of the ambassadors.

 Cerys-e1459590850837  Nigel-Owens-8-e1459586911930

Cerys Matthews

Musician and author; radio and TV presenter

Nigel Owens

International rugby referee; TV presenter

 Nia-Parry.2-e1459930366879  DWD-Photo-e1459586837920

Nia Parry

TV presenter, producer and researcher; Welsh tutor, Welsh in a week

Damian Walford Davies

Professor of English Literature at Cardiff University; poet; Chair of Literature Wales


Notable contributors to CorCenCC

Details coming soon.